Diversely Me

Extraordinary Everyday Women

Kim McKinsey-Mabry, Ed.D.

What is your name?

Kim McKinsey-Mabry

Where do you see yourself 5 years from now?

I absolutely see myself continuing to work in higher education; continuing to serve my community; enjoying my family and living life to the fullest!

How do you culturally identify yourself?

I am a biracial woman (the daughter of a Black father & White mother) and identify myself as a Black woman.

What is your career or profession?

I am the Interim Dean of Academic Services at Monroe Community College, Damon City Campus. Essentially, I oversee all of the academic programming, academic services, pre-collegiate programs, and a few grant programs at the Damon City Campus.

Did you go to university or college? If so, what was your major or concentration? 

Yes, I spent most of my adult life in college! I have an AS in Liberal Arts with a Certificate in Human Services from Monroe Community College, a BS in Community & Human Services Management from Empire State College, an MBA from Metropolitan College of NY, and a Doctorate in Education Leadership from St. John Fisher College.

Do you have other positions that you hold (profession or volunteer)?

I serve on the Board of Directors for the Rochester Education Foundation and Jefferson Avenue Childhood Development Center.

I participate as a member of Unite Rochester, Education Committee Member and Facing Race=Embracing Equity, Table 23.

Do you have any hobbies or special interests? 

I enjoy traveling, attending local festivals and events, and spending time with my family.

What’s your most cherished family tradition? Why is it important?

The one family tradition I cherish most (along with my oldest daughter, Jasmine) is hosting Christmas Eve dinner and a gift exchange for our family. It is the one time of year that our small family makes a point to get together to celebrate and enjoy each other and eat good food!

And since my husband and I (and our 22 year old daughter, Jasmine) just welcomed the newest addition to the family, our daughter, Kennedy, I am sure new family traditions are to come.

How has your culture influenced who you are?

Well, being biracial has provided me with the best and sometimes the worst of two different worlds. In terms of “who I am”…I am discovering the ‘Diversely Me’ everyday.

 

What do you see as your place or purpose in life? 

I am working hard to figure out my actual purpose in this life. Every time I think I have it figured out—well, life changes; my goals and commitments shift. At one point in my life I was extremely focused on pursuing my education. I believed, and still do, that achieving such a high level of education would position me to help others. At another point in my life, my focus was on working hard to achieve professional success. Very much like education, I believed, and still do, that professional success would position me to help others. I guess I believe my purpose is to help others-but now I am working on the “how to”. Also, having just had my second child, Kennedy—21 years after my first daughter, Jasmine—I am rediscovering the purpose, importance, and joy of family.

Photographer: Trish Walker

Make Up Artist- Aryes Armstrong

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2016 by in Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Navigation